Comic Books & Graphic NovelsConventions & Events

WonderCon 2016: BOOM! Studios Announce New Comic Series


On the Friday of the 2016 WonderCon, BOOM! Studios announced that Kurt Sutter, creator of Sons of Anarchy, is the co-writer with Caitlin Kittredge of a new comic series, Lucas Stand, with artist Jesús Hervás. The comic follows the titular character, a veteran anti-hero, as he battles demons from Hell–on the orders from Lucifer himself. It will be available for sale starting June 1, and will be a limited release of six issues, with 32 pages.

Lucas Stand #1 Main Cover by Lee Bermejo
Lucas Stand #1 Main Cover by Lee Bermejo

BOOM! Studios also have several other publications in the works.

First is an ongoing comic series for Mighty Morphin Power Rangers. Written by Kyle Higgins and Steve Orlando, with artists Hendry Prasetya and Corin Howell, the comics are 32 pages long and is a modern version of the well-known series. While issue #0 and issue #1 are already out, issue 2 will come out on April 6. The first story arc follows Tommy Oliver, the Green Ranger, as he joins the team.

Archaia, an imprint of BOOM!, will be publishing a graphic novel adaptation of The Black Dahlia. Written by James Ellroy (author of the source material), David Fincher, and Matz, with artwork of Miles Hyman, the comic covers the unsolved murder of Elizabeth Short in 1940s Los Angeles. The comic is 168 pages, and will be available June 8 in comic book stores.

BOOM! Box, another imprint, is getting ready to celebrate the 25th issue of Lumberjanes on April 20. Written by Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis, Shannon Watters, and Kat Leyh, with artists Brooke Allen, Carolyn Nowak, and Carey Pietsch, the monthly series follows five ladies who fight monsters with the power of friendship. The series has won two Eisner Awards, and has been on several Best-of-the-Year lists.

They also plan on a crossover with DC Comics with a Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy limited series starting June 8. Written by Chynna Clugston Flores with artist Rosemary Valero O’Connell, the six-issue series has the Lumberjanes meet up with the kids from Gotham Academy.

Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy #1 Main Cover by Mingjue Chen
Lumberjanes/Gotham Academy #1 Main Cover by Mingjue Chen

Finally, there’s Goldie Vance, a limited series written by Hope Larson with artist Brittney Williams. This four issue series, on sale April 13, presents 16-year-old Goldie Vance, becoming the next Nancy Drew when she runs across a mystery at the resort she lives at with her dad.

For more information about BOOM! Studios, visit their website.

For more coverage on WonderCon 2016, check out our Instagram and this link for articles and interviews.

You can see more of Angie’s work (and her social media connections) over at her website.


Angie Fiedler Sutton

Angie Fiedler Sutton is a writer, photographer, and all-round fangirl geek. She currently lives in Los Angeles, and primarily covers geek culture, entertainment, and the performing arts. She's been published in Den of Geek, Stage Directions, LA Weekly, The Mary Sue, and others. You can see more of her work (and her social media connections) over at her website

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
27 × 25 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.