AwardsBooksConventions & Events

“Saving the World Through Science Fiction”- John W. Campbell Award Nominees

[Featured image courtesy the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction at Kansas State University]

The finalists for the 2017 John W. Campbell Memorial Award for best science fiction novel have been announced by Christopher McKitterick, Director of the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. The Award Banquet will take place Friday, June 16, at this year’s Campbell Conference.

The finalists are as follows:
Alastair Reynolds and Stephen Baxter: The Medusa Chronicles
Don DeLillo: Zero K
Kij Johnson: The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe
Paul J. McAuley: Into Everywhere
Nisi Shawl: Everfair
Tricia Sullivan: Occupy Me
Tade Thompson: Rosewater
Lavie Tidhar: Central Station
Colson Whitehead: The Underground Railroad
Aliya Whiteley: The Arrival of Missives
Rick Wilber: Alien Morning
Ben Winters: Underground Airlines
John Nicholas Wood: Azanian Bridges

The John W. Campbell Award was created in 1973 by Harry Harrison and Brian Aldiss to honor the late editor of Astounding Science Fiction magazine (since changed to Analog). Campbell is considered by many in the field as the father of modern SF.

This year’s Conference, held in the Lawrence, Kansas University Student Union, will feature the celebration of James Gunn and the mission statement of the Gunn Center, “Saving the world through science fiction.” It includes a Friday-evening banquet where the annual Theodore Sturgeon and John W. Campbell Memorial Awards will be presented.

Jurors this year include Gregory Benford, Sheila Finch, James Gunn, Elizabeth Anne Hull, Paul Kincaid, Pamela Sargent, and Lisa Yaszek, as well as McKitterick.

The Conference takes place on June 16-18.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
27 + 10 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.