AwardsBooksConventions & Events

Lavie Tidhar’s CENTRAL STATION Wins Campbell Award

[Featured image courtesy]

The 2017 John W. Campbell Award ceremony was held this past weekend in Lawrence, Kansas at the Gunn Center for the Study of Science Fiction. Central Station by Lavie Tidhar, takes that honor home this year.

Central Station has been accumulating praise and accolades since  publication in May of 2016 by Tachyon Publishing. An NPR Best Book of 2016 and a Guardian Best SF & Fantasy Book, it also made the long list for the British Science Fiction Award, as well as a nomination for the 2017 Arthur C. Clarke Award.

The other nominees included:

  • Alastair Reynolds and Stephen Baxter: The Medusa Chronicles
  • Don DeLillo: Zero K
  • Kij Johnson: The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe
  • Paul J. McAuley: Into Everywhere
  • Nisi Shawl: Everfair
  • Tricia Sullivan: Occupy Me
  • Tade Thompson: Rosewater
  • Colson Whitehead: The Underground Railroad
  • Aliya Whiteley: The Arrival of Missives
  • Rick Wilber: Alien Morning
  • Ben Winters: Underground Airlines
  • John Nicholas Wood: Azanian Bridges

Author Tidhar was unable to attend the conference; Gunn Center administrator and 2017 jury member Christopher McKitterick was in attendance to accept the award on Tidhar’s behalf.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
19 × 8 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.