2015 Stoker Winners Announced


The 2015 Bram Stoker Awards for achievement in eleven categories across the horror genre were awarded during the first annual StokerCon, held in Las Vegas from May 12-15, 2016.

Superior Achievement in a Novel

  • Winner: Paul Tremblay – A Head Full of Ghosts (William Morrow)
  • Clive Barker – The Scarlet Gospels (St. Martin’s Press)
  • Michaelbrent Collings – The Deep (self-published)
  • JG Faherty – The Cure (Samhain Publishing)
  • Patrick Freivald – Black Tide (JournalStone Publishing)

Superior Achievement in a First Novel

  • Winner: Nicole Cushing – Mr. Suicide (Word Horde)
  • Courtney Alameda – Shutter (Feiwel & Friends)
  • Brian Kirk – We Are Monsters (Samhain Publishing)
  • John McIlveen – Hannahwhere (Crossroad Press)
  • John Claude Smith – Riding the Centipede (Omnium Gatherum)

Superior Achievement in a Young Adult Novel

  • Winner: John Dixon – Devil’s Pocket (Simon & Schuster)
  • Jennifer Brozek – Never Let Me Sleep (Permuted Press)
  • Michaelbrent Collings – The Ridealong (self-published)
  • Tonya Hurley – Hallowed (Simon & Schuster)
  • Maureen Johnson – The Shadow Cabinet (Penguin)
  • Ian Welke – End Times at Ridgemont High (Omnium Gatherum)

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

  • Winner: Sam Weller, Mort Castle, Chris Ryall, & Carlos Guzman (editors) – Shadow Show: Stories in Celebration of Ray Bradbury (IDW Publishing)
  • Cullen Bunn – Harrow County, Vol. 1: Countless Haints (Dark Horse Comics)
  • Victor Gischler – Hellbound (Dark Horse Books)
  • Robert Kirkman – Outcast, Vol. 1: A Darkness Surrounds Him (Image Comics)
  • Scott Snyder – Wytches, Vol. 1 (Image Comics)

Superior Achievement in Long Fiction

  • Winner: Mercedes M. Yardley – “Little Dead Red” (Grimm Mistresses) (Ragnarok Publications)
  • Gary A. Braunbeck – “Paper Cuts” (Seize the Night) (Gallery Books)
  • Lisa Mannetti – “The Box Jumper” (Smart Rhino Publications)
  • Norman Partridge – “Special Collections” (The Library of the Dead) (Written Backwards)
  • Scott Edelman – “Becoming Invisible, Becoming Seen” (Dark Discoveries #30)

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

  • Winner: John Palisano – “Happy Joe’s Rest Stop” (18 Wheels of Horror) (Big Time Books)
  • Kate Jonez – “All the Day You’ll Have Good Luck” (Black Static #47)
  • Gene O’Neill – “The Algernon Effect” (White Noise Press)
  • Damien Angelica Walters – “Sing Me Your Scars” (Sing Me Your Scars) (Apex Publications)
  • Alyssa Wong – “Hungry Daughters of Starving Mothers” (Nightmare Magazine #37)

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

  • Winner: David Robert Mitchell – It Follows (Northern Lights Films)
  • Guillermo del Toro & Matthew Robbins – Crimson Peak (Legendary Pictures)
  • John Logan – Penny Dreadful: “And Hell Itself My Only Foe” (Showtime)
  • John Logan – Penny Dreadful: “Nightcomers” (Showtime)
  • Taika Waititi & Jemaine Clement – What We Do in the Shadows (Unison Films)

Superior Achievement in an Anthology

  • Winner: Michael Bailey – The Library of the Dead (Written Backwards)
  • Ellen Datlow – The Doll Collection: Seventeen Brand-New Tales of Dolls (Tor Books)
  • Christopher Golden – Seize the Night (Gallery Books)
  • Nancy Kilpatrick and Caro Soles – nEvermore! (Edge Science Fiction and Fantasy Publishing)
  • Jonathan Maberry – The X-Files: Trust No One (IDW Publishing)
  • Joseph Nassise and Del Howison – Midian Unmade (Tor Books)

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

  • Winner: Lucy A. Snyder – While the Black Stars Burn (Raw Dog Screaming Press)
  • Gary A. Braunbeck – Halfway Down the Stairs (JournalStone Publishing)
  • Nicole Cushing – The Mirrors (Cycatrix Press)
  • Taylor Grant – The Dark at the End of the Tunnel (Cemetery Dance Publications)
  • Gene O’Neill – The Hitchhiking Effect (Dark Renaissance Books)

Superior Achievement in Non-Fiction

  • Winner: Stephen Jones – The Art of Horror (Applause Theatre & Cinema Books)
  • Justin Everett and Jeffrey H. Shanks (ed.) – The Unique Legacy of Weird Tales: The Evolution of Modern Fantasy and Horror (Rowman & Littlefield Publishers)
  • Michael Knost – Author’s Guide to Marketing with Teeth (Seventh Star Press)
  • Joe Mynhardt & Emma Audsley (editors) – Horror 201: The Silver Scream (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Danel Olson – Studies in the Horror Film: Stanley Kubrick’s The Shining (Centipede Press)

Superior Achievement in a Poetry Collection

  • Winner: Alessandro Manzetti – Eden Underground (Crystal Lake Publishing)
  • Bruce Boston – Resonance Dark and Light (Eldritch Press)
  • Ann Schwader – Dark Energies (P’rea Press)
  • Marge Simon – Naughty Ladies (Eldritch Press)
  • Stephanie M. Wytovich – An Exorcism of Angels (Raw Dog Screaming Press)


Previously announced categories:

Lifetime Achievement Award – Alan Moore & George A. Romero

Silver Hammer Award – Michael Knost

Specialty Press Award – Borderlands Press

Mentor of the Year Award – Tim Waggoner

Richard Laymon President’s Award – Patrick Freivald & Andrew Wolter


For more information, visit Horror Writers of America and StokerCon2016.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
10 × 2 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.