World Fantasy Award Judges Announced

The judges for the World Fantasy Awards have been impaneled and announced. Presented by the World Fantasy Convention, the awards recognize excellence in several fantasy categories:

  • Life Achievement
  • Best Novel
  • Best Novella (10,001 to 40,000 words)
  • Best Short Story
  • Best Anthology
  • Best Collection
  • Best Artist
  • Special Award—Professional
  • Special Award—NonProfessional

The awards will be presented at the World Fantasy Convention, held at the Wyndham Riverwalk in San Antonio, Texas November 2-5, 2017. This year’s theme is “Secret Histories – The Use of History in Fantasy”. All forms of fantasy are eligible, and submissions in each category can be sent to the judges for consideration:

Elizabeth Engstrom*
298 Hambletonian Drive, Eugene, OR 97401

Daryl Gregory** §
3124 Sylvan Avenure, Oakland, CA 94602

Nalo Hopkinson
1447 7th Street #1, Riverside, CA 92507

Juliet Marillier* §
P.O. Box 189, Guildford, WA 6935 Australia

Betsy Mitchell*
884 Lincoln Place, Brooklyn, NY 11213
(prefers PDF submissions)

(Judges marked with an * can accept pdfs; ** can accept mobi; *** both; § can accept ePub)

Copies of each submission should also be sent to:

Peter Dennis Pautz, president
World Fantasy Awards Association
8050 Mukilteo Speedway, # 43; Mukilteo, WA 98275-0043; USA


See the World Fantasy 2017 site or the World Fantasy convention home page for more.


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
23 + 9 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.