Neffy Award Winners Annouced

The winners have been announced for the Neffy Award, formally known as the National Fantasy Fan Federation Speculative Fiction Award.

The Neffys are administered by the Federation, which was founded in 1941 and included such original members as Damon Knight, Edward E. “Doc” Smith, Ray Bradbury, and Forrest Ackerman. N3F has been handing out the Neffy since 2005.

Winners marked in red.

Best Novel (over 100,000 words)

Against Three Lands, George Phillies (self-published)
A Guide For Murdered Children, Sarah Sparrow (Penguin Publishing Group)
Legion: The Many Lives of Stephen Leeds, Brandon Sanderson (Tom Doherty Associates)
The Princess in the Tower, Chris Nuttall (Twilight Times Books)
Uncompromising Honor, David Weber (Baen)
We Sold Our Souls, Grady Hendrix (Quirk Publishing)

Best Shorter Work (under 100,000 words)

“Shadowdrop”, Chris Willrich (Beneath Ceaseless Skies issue 261)
“The Black God’s Drums”, P. Djèlí Clark (Tor Publishing)
“Joyride”, Kristine Kathryn Rusch (Asimov’s Science Fiction 11-12/2018)
“What Is Eve?”, Will McIntosh (Lightspeed Magazine issue 95)
“Intervention”, Kelly Robson (Infinity’s End, Solaris)
“Bloom”, Kate Elliott (The Book of Magic, Bantam Books)
“When We Were Starless”, Simone Heller (Clarkesworld issue 145)
“Prophet of the Roads”, Naomi Kritzer (Infinity’s End, Solaris)
“A Song of Home, the Organ Grinds”, James Beamon (Lightspeed Magazine issue 98)
“Meat And Salt And Sparks”, Rich Larson (
“The City of Lost Desire”, Phyllis Eisenstein (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, Jan-Feb 2018)

Best Book Editor

Toni Weisskopf

Best Fanzine (electronic publication is allowed)

Ionisphere, John Thiel
Optuntia, Dale Spiers
Origin, John Thiel
Spartacus, Guy Lillian
Tightbeam, N3F

Best Blog

Gary Labowitz
Mad Genius Club, the Mad Genii

Best TV Show

Game of Thrones

Best SF Movie/Video

A Quiet Place

Best Anime

Devilman Crybaby (Netflix)
Planet With (J.C. Staff/Cruncyroll)
Revue Starlight (Kimema Citrus/Sentai)
A Place Further Than the Universe (Madhouse/Crunchyroll)
Aggretsuko (Fanworks/Netflix)

Best Graphic Art Publication

Lady Mechanika, M. M. Chen and Joe Benetez
Monstress, Marjorie M. Liu and Sana Takeda
Raven: Daughter of Darkness, Marv Wolfman

Best Cover Art (tie)

Kent Bash, The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction March-April 2019
Brad Fraunfelter, The Broken Throne by Chris Nuttall

Best Magazine


The winners were announced on the N3F’s Facebook page on August 19.

Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
14 × 14 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.