Baen Fantasy Award Winner Announced

Baen Books recently announced the winner and runners-up for the 2023 Baen Fantasy Adventure Awards. This is the tenth annual round of awards recognizing the best original adventure fantasy short stories in the style of authors such as Mercedes Lackey, Jim Butcher, Charlaine Harris, Larry Correia, Andre Norton, J.R.R. Tolkien, David Weber, and more.

Presented during the Baen Roadshow by publisher Toni Weisskopf at Dragon*Con in Atlanta, this year’s awards were decided by the Baen editorial staff and guest judge Tim Powers, author of over thirty novels and a two-time winner of the World Fantasy Award.

The grand prize winner is A.A. Nour for the story “The Hitchhiker on Souls’ Road” with second place awarded to Melissa Olthoff for “Fall From Grace” and third place ending in a tie between “The Knight, The Witch, and The Farmboy” by C.H. Hung and “Once Given a Name” by Shami Stovall. Nour receives an engraved trophy and a prize package containing various Baen publications. “I’m very excited and honored to win. This story has a particularly special place in my heart, and I’m looking forward to Baen sharing it,” Nour stated. Her story will be featured on the main page of Baen’s web site throughout the month of September, then available at the Baen Free Library.


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
21 − 3 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.