The first annual Dragon Awards, each a unique handblown glass sculpture. (photo by Matthew Bowman, used by permission)
AwardsBooksComic Books & Graphic NovelsConventions & Events

2017 Dragon Award Winners Announced

The Dragon Awards winners have been announced at Dragon Con on September 3rd in Atlanta, GA. According to their press release, more than 8,000 ballots were cast in 15 categories with a total of 88 nominees, The winners and nominees follow:

Best Science Fiction Novel:

WINNER: Babylon’s Ashes, James S.A. Corey (Orbit)

  • A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (Harper Voyager)
  • Space Tripping, Patrick Edwards (Inkshares)
  • Rise, Brian Guthrie (Inkshares)
  • Death’s End, Cixin Liu (Tor)
  • The Secret Kings, Brian Niemeier (Self-published)
  • Escaping Infinity, Richard Paolinelli (Tuscany Bay)
  • The Collapsing Empire, John Scalzi (Tor)

Best Fantasy Novel:

WINNER: Monster Hunter Memoirs: Grunge, Larry Correia & John Ringo (Baen)

  • The Hearthstone Thief, Pippa DaCosta (Crazy Ace)
  • A Sea of Skulls, Vox Day (Self-published)
  • Wings of Justice, Michael-Scott Earle (Self-published)
  • Blood of the Earth, Faith Hunter (Ace)
  • Beast Master, Shayne Silvers (Argento)
  • Dangerous Ways, R.R. Virdi (R.R. Virdi)

Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel:

WINNER: The Hammer of Thor, Rick Riordan (Disney-Hyperion)

  • It’s All Fun and Games, Dave Barrett (Nerdist)
  • Defy the Stars, Claudia Gray (Little, Brown)
  • Firebrand, A.J. Hartley (Tor Teen)
  • Rachel and the Many Splendored Dreamland, L. Jagi Lamplighter (Wisecraft)
  • A Court of Wings and Ruin, Sarah J. Maas (Bloomsbury)
  • Swan Knight’s Son, John C Wright (Castalia House)

Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel:

WINNER: Iron Dragoons, Richard Fox (Self-published)

  • Star Realms: Rescue Run, Jon Del Arroz (Evil Girlfriend)
  • The Span of Empire, Eric Flint & David Carrico (Baen)
  • Caine’s Mutiny, Charles E. Gannon (Baen)
  • Invasion: Resistance, J.F. Holmes (Self-published)
  • Starship Liberator, B.V. Larson & David Van Dyke (Castalia House)
  • Allies and Enemies: Exiles, Amy J. Murphy (Self-published)
  • Cartwright’s Cavaliers, Mark Wandrey (Seventh Seal)

Best Alternate History Novel:

WINNER: Fallout: The Hot War, Harry Turtledove (Del Rey)

  • Another Girl, Another Planet, Lou Antonelli (WordFire)
  • Witchy Eye, D.J. Butler (Baen)
  • Breath of Earth, Beth Cato (Harper Voyager)
  • No Gods, Only Daimons, Kai Wai Cheah (Castalia House)
  • 1636: The Ottoman Onslaught, Eric Flint (Baen)
  • The Last Days of New Paris, China Miéville (Del Rey)
  • A Change in Crime, D.R. Perry (Self-published)

Best Apocalyptic Novel:

WINNER: Walkaway, Cory Doctorow (Tor)

  • American War, Omar El Akkad (Vintage)
  • Codename: Unsub, Declan Finn & Allan Yoskowitz (Self-published)
  • The Seventh Age: Dawn, Rick Heinz (Inkshares)
  • ZK: Falling, J.F. Holmes (Self-published)
  • A Place Outside the Wild, Daniel Humphreys (Self-published)
  • The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit)

Best Horror Novel:

WINNER: The Changeling, Victor LaValle (Spiegel & Grau)

  • A God in the Shed, J-F Dubeau (Inkshares)
  • Live and Let Bite, Declan Finn (Self-published)
  • Donn’s Hill, Caryn Larrinaga (Immortal Works)
  • The Hidden People, Alison Littlewood (Jo Fletcher)
  • The Bleak December, Kevin G. Summers (Self-published)
  • Blood of Invidia, Tom Tinney & Morgen Batten (PiR8 Productions)
  • Nothing Left to Lose, Dan Wells (Tor)

Best Comic Book:

WINNER: The Dresden Files: Dog Men

  • Buffy The Vampire Slayer Season Eleven
  • Monstress
  • Motor Girl
  • Ms. Marvel
  • Saga
  • Wynonna Earp Legends

Best Graphic Novel:

WINNER: Jim Butcher’s The Dresden Files: Wild Card, Jim Butcher, Carlos Gomez (Dynamite)

  • Clive Barker’s Nightbreed #3, Marc Andreyko, Clive Barker, Emmanuel Xerx Javier (BOOM! Studios)
  • Love is Love, Marc Andreyko, Sarah Gaydos, James S. Rich (IDW)
  • My Favorite Thing Is Monsters, Emil Ferris (Fantagraphics)
  • Girl Genius: the Second Journey of Agatha Heterodyne, Book 2: The City of Lightning, Phil and Kaja Foglio (Studio Foglio)
  • March: Book 3, John Lewis, Andrew Aydin (Turtleback Books)
  • Stuck in My Head, J.R. Mounts (Self-published)

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series:

WINNER: Stranger Things

  • Doctor Who
  • The Expanse
  • Lucifer
  • Marvel’s Agents of Shield
  • Stan Lee’s Lucky Man
  • Westworld
  • Wynonna Earp

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie:

WINNER: Wonder Woman

  • Arrival
  • Doctor Strange
  • Guardians of the Galaxy Vol. 2
  • Logan
  • Passengers
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story

The Dragon Awards just started in 2016 to help celebrate the 30th anniversary of Dragon Con. This is their second year. For more information about the convention, please visit their website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
29 − 17 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.