Arthur C. Clarke Award Winner Announced

The British Science Fiction Associaton, the Science Fiction Foundation, and the Sci-Fi London Film Festival have selected the winner of the annual Arthur C. Clarke Award: The Animals in that Country by Laura Jean McKay. The winning work was first announced on BBC Radio 4’s Front Row, hosted by Samira Ahmed.

The award is given to recognize the best science fiction novel first published in the United Kingdom during the previous year. Judges are a voluntary group with members nominated by the supporting organizations.

The short list of nominess:

  • The Infinite  – Patience Agbabi
  • The Vanished Birds – Simon Jimenez
  • Vagabonds – Hao Jingfang
  • Edge of Heaven – R.B. Kelly
  • The Animals in that Country – Laura Jean McKay
  • Chilling Effect  -  Valerie Valdes

In a response posted on Twitter, McKay said she was “beyond thrilled” to be joining the roster of winners.

McKay is the 35th recipient of the Clarke Award.

Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
22 ⁄ 11 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.