The first annual Dragon Awards, each a unique handblown glass sculpture. (photo by Matthew Bowman, used by permission)
AwardsConventions & Events

2023 Dragon Award Winners Announced

It’s Dragon*Con weekend, which means we now have winners in the 2023 Dragon Awards.

Recognizing “excellence in all things Science Fiction and Fantasy,” the Dragon Awards are determined by fans and are given to those who have contributed in the categories of books, games, comic books, television shows, and movies. There are no requirements for participation other than to register and confirm an e-mail to fill out a ballot. Winners were announced in Atlanta Sunday, September 3rd.

Winners are marked in red, as live-tweeted by Ray Radlein.

Best Science Fiction Novel

  • Eversion by Alastair Reynolds
  • The Spare Man by Mary Robinette Kowal
  • Children of Memory by Adrian Tchaikovsky
  • Translation Slate by Ann Leckie
  • Neom by Lavie Tidhar
  • The Daughter of Doctor Moreau by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • The Icarus Plot by Timothy Zahn

Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)

  • The Witch King by Martha Wells
  • Tower of Silence by Larry Correia
  • Babel by R. F. Kuang
  • Tress of the Emerald Sea by Brandon Sanderson
  • Into the Vortex by Charles E. Gannon
  • The Atlas Paradox by Olivie Blake

Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel

  • The Golden Enclaves by Naomi Novik
  • The Scratch Daughters by H. A. Clarke
  • Rust in the Root by Justina Ireland
  • Academy Arcanist by Shami Stovall
  • Foul Lady Fortune by Chloe Gong
  • Bloodmarked by Tracy Deonn

Best Alternate History Novel

  • Lost In Time by A.G. Riddle
  • Hidden Voices by Dan Willis
  • Halcyon by Elliot Ackerman
  • The Mother by B.L. Blanchard
  • The Revolutionary War by Christopher G. Nuttall

Best Horror Novel

  • The Devil Takes You Home by Gabino Iglesias
  • Reluctant Immortals by Gwendolyn Kiste
  • A House With Good Bones by T. Kingfisher
  • No Gods For Drowning by Hailey Piper
  • The Pallbearers Club by Paul Tremblay
  • The Only One Left by Riley Sager

Best Illustrative Cover

  • Ashes of Man by Kieran Yanner
  • River of Ashes by Sam Shearon
  • But Not Broken by Cedar Sanderson
  • Titan Mage: Apocalypse by Jackson Tjota
  • Tower of Silence by Kurt Miller
  • Wraithbound by Jeff Brown

Best Comic Book or Graphic Novel

  • Dune: House Harkonnen by Brian Herbert, Kevin J Anderson, Michael Shelfer
  • Kaya by Wes Craig
  • Dawn of DC: Green Arrow by Joshua Williamson, Sean Izaakse
  • Wolverine by Benjamin Percy, Juan Jose Ryp
  • X-Men by Gerry Duggan, Joshua Cassara
  • Night Fever by Ed Brubaker, Sean Phillips, Jacob Phillips

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series, TV or Internet

  • Andor, Disney+
  • The Last of Us, HBO
  • The Sandman, Netflix
  • Strange New Worlds, Paramount+
  • The Mandalorian, Disney+
  • Picard, Paramount+
  • House of the Dragon, HBO

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie

  • Avatar: The Way of Water by James Cameron
  • Dungeons & Dragons: Honor Among Thieves by Jonathan Goldstein, John Francis Daley
  • Everything Everywhere All at Once by Daniel Kwan, Daniel Scheinert
  • Guardians of the Galaxy 3 by James Gunn
  • Puss in Boots: The Last Wish by Joel Crawford
  • Spider-Man: Across the Spider-Verse by Joaquim Dos Santos, Kemp Powers, Justin K. Thompson

Best Digital Game

  • Diablo IV, Blizzard Entertainment
  • Hogwarts Legacy, Avalanche Software
  • Star Wars Jedi: Survivor, Respawn Entertainment
  • The Legend of Zelda: Tears of the Kingdom, Nintendo EPD
  • Overwatch 2, Blizzard Entertainment
  • Call of Duty: Modern Warfare II, Infinity Ward

Best Tabletop Game

  • Frosthaven, Cephalofair Games
  • Earth, Inside Up Games
  • Magic the Gathering: The Lord of the Rings: Tales of Middle-earth, Wizards of the Coast
  • Dorfromantik – The Boardgame, Pegasus Spiele
  • Turing Machine, Scorpion Masque
  • Alien Role-playing Game: Heart of Darkness, Free League

Also presented at the ceremony was the Julie Award, presented by Peter David’s daughter reading his speech, as the award was presented to producer Marty Krofft. The Julie was established in 1998 in honor of legendary comics editor Julius Schwartz, and is given for universal achievement across multiple genres.

Matthew Foster presented the Eugie Foster Memorial Award for Short Fiction, also known as the Eugie Award, celebrating the best of short innovative fiction and named for Nebula winner Eugie Foster, who was a writer, columnist, and editor with stories published in a number of magazines and anthologies including Fantasy MagazineInterzone, and Orson Scott Card’s InterGalactic Medicine Show. She died at age 42 from respiratory failure following a battle with lymphoma. This year’s award was given to Rich Larson, author of a number of short stories appearing in the pages of Asimov’sAnalogClarkesworld, and more, in addition to his Violet Wars series of novels.

The Mike Resnick Memorial Award for the best unpublished science fiction short story by a new author was also announced at Dragon*Con.

  • “For the Great and Immortal” by Daniel Burnbridge (South Africa)
  • “Spare Parts” by M. Thomas Diskint (Unknown)
  • “Just Another Day” by Cecilia Kang (Singapore)
  • “Lag” by Pierre-Alexandre Sicart (Taiwan)
  • “Deep Sadness” by Sophia Tao (United States)

The Hank Reinhart Fandom Award went to Amanda Makepeace.


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
22 + 29 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.