AwardsConventions & Events

2017 Hugo Award Winners Announced from Helsinki

The Hugo Awards, including the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer have been announced at the 75th World Science Fiction Convention, held in Helsinki, Finland, August 9-13, 2017. The nominees and winners are as follows:

Best Novel:

  • WINNER: The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • All the Birds in the Sky, Charlie Jane Anders (Tor; Titan UK)
  • A Closed and Common Orbit, Becky Chambers (Hodder & Stoughton; Harper Voyager US)
  • Ninefox Gambit, Yoon Ha Lee (Solaris US; Solaris UK)
  • Death’s End, Cixin Liu (Tor; Head of Zeus)
  • Too Like the Lightning, Ada Palmer (Tor)

Best Novella:

  • WINNER: Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire ( Publishing)
  • Penric and the Shaman, Lois McMaster Bujold (Spectrum Literary Agency)
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson ( Publishing)
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle ( Publishing)
  • This Census-Taker, China Miéville (Del Rey; Picador)
  • A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson ( Publishing)

Best Novelette: 

  • WINNER: “The Tomato Thief”, Ursula Vernon (Apex 1/5/16)
  • “The Art of Space Travel”, Nina Allan ( 7/27/16)
  • “Touring with the Alien”, Carolyn Ives Gilman (Clarkesworld 4/16)
  • “Alien Stripper Boned from Behind by the T-Rex”, Stix Hiscock (self-published)
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary, Fran Wilde ( Publishing)
  • “You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay”, Alyssa Wong (Uncanny 5-6/16)

Best Short Story:

  • WINNER: “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
  • “The City Born Great”, N.K. Jemisin ( 9/28/16)
  • “That Game We Played During the War”, Carrie Vaughn ( 3/16/16)
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers”, Alyssa Wong ( 3/2/16)
  • “An Unimaginable Light”, John C. Wright (God, Robot)

Best Related Work: 

  • WINNER: Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books, 2000-2016, Ursula K. Le Guin (Small Beer)
  • The Princess Diarist, Carrie Fisher (Blue Rider)
  • Women of Harry Potter, Sarah Gailey (
  • The View from the Cheap Seats, Neil Gaiman (Morrow; Headline)
  • The Geek Feminist Revolution, Kameron Hurley (Tor)
  • Traveler of Worlds: Conversations with Robert Silverberg, Robert Silverberg & Alvaro Zinos-Amaro (Fairwood)

Best Graphic Story::

  • WINNER: Monstress, Volume 1: Awakening, Marjorie Liu, art by Sana Takeda (Image)
  • Black Panther, Volume 1: A Nation Under Our Feet, Ta-Nehisi Coates, art by Brian Stelfreeze (Marvel)
  • The Vision, Volume 1: Little Worse Than A Man, Tom King, art by Gabriel Hernandez Walta (Marvel)
  • Paper Girls, Volume 1, Brian K. Vaughan, art by Cliff Chiang (Image)
  • Saga, Volume 6, Brian K. Vaughan, art by Fiona Staples (Image)
  • Ms. Marvel, Volume 5: Super Famous, G. Willow Wilson, art by Takeshi Miyazawa, Adrian Alphona & Nico Leon (Marvel)

Best Dramatic Presentation — Long:

  • WINNER: Arrival
  • Deadpool
  • Ghostbusters
  • Hidden Figures
  • Rogue One
  • Stranger Things, Season One

Best Dramatic Presentation — Short:

  • WINNER: The Expanse: “Leviathan Wakes”
  • Black Mirror: “San Junipero”
  • Doctor Who: “The Return of Doctor Mysterio”
  • Game of Thrones: “Battle of the Bastards”
  • Game of Thrones: “The Door”
  • Splendor & Misery

Best Professional Editor Short Form:

  • WINNER: Ellen Datlow
  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
  • Sheila Williams

Best Professional Editor Long Form:

  • WINNER: Liz Gorinsky
  • Vox Day
  • Sheila E. Gilbert
  • Devi Pillai
  • Miriam Weinberg
  • Navah Wolfe

 Best Professional Artist:

  • WINNER: Julie Dillon
  • Galen Dara
  • Chris McGrath
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Sana Takeda

Best Semiprozine:

  • WINNER: Uncanny Magazine
  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Cirsova Heroic Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine
  • GigaNotoSaurus
  • Strange Horizons
  • The Book Smugglers

Best Fanzine :

  • WINNER: Lady Business
  • Castalia House Blog
  • Journey Planet
  • nerds of a feather, flock together
  • Rocket Stack Rank
  • SF Bluestocking

Best Fancast:

  • WINNER: Tea & Jeopardy
  • The Coode Street Podcast
  • Ditch Diggers
  • Fangirl Happy Hour
  • Galactic Suburbia
  • The Rageaholic

Best Fan Artist

  • WINNER: Elizabeth Leggett
  • Ninni Aalto
  • Alex Garner (removed from ballot due to ineligibility)
  • Vesa Lehtimäki
  • Likhain (M. Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Steve Stiles

Best Series:

  • WINNER: The Vorkosigan Saga, Lois McMaster Bujold (Baen)
  • The Craft Sequence, Max Gladstone (Tor)
  • The Expanse, James S.A. Corey (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The October Daye Books, Seanan McGuire (DAW; Corsair)
  • The Peter Grant/Rivers of London series, Ben Aaronovitch (Gollancz; Del Rey; DAW; Subterranean)
  • The Temeraire series, Naomi Novik (Del Rey; Harper Voyager UK)

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer

  • WINNER: Ada Palmer
  • Sarah Gailey
  • J. Mulrooney
  • Malka Older
  • Laurie Penny
  • Kelly Robson

For Lois McMaster Bujold’s comments regarding her Vorkosigan Saga nomination (pre-Hugo ceremony), check out our interview here.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
6 × 4 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.