Comic Books & Graphic NovelsTelevision & Film

TCA Summer Tour: Marvel’s Netflix Plan


At the recent Television Critics Association Summer Tour media event, Netflix announced that they plan to release a new Marvel show every six months, starting with Jessica Jones.

Iron Fist and Luke Cage will also be released on Netflix, with a mini series featuring all the characters as The Defenders. If Jessica Jones and the other Marvel superheros are anything like Daredevil, these Netflix shows will be much darker and bloodier than the Marvel films.

Jessica Jones stars Krysten Ritter, David Tennant as Kilgrave, and Mike Colter as Luke Cage. In an interview with Collider, showrunner Melissa Rosenburg said, “Jessica is about paying rent and getting the next client. She’s dealing with a fairly dark past. She’s trying to get through the day. She’s not really trying to save the city. She’s trying to save her apartment.”

In the comics, Jones is a former superhero turned private investigator. Once the heroine known as Jewel, she has super-strength and limited invulnerability along with the ability to not-quite-fly. Whether those powers will appear in the show is yet to be revealed.

At the TCA event, Rosenberg said, “It all starts with Brian Michael Bendis’s Alias series,” referring to the 2001-2004 run by Bendis and artist Michael Gaydos. “He created this incredibly flawed, damaged interesting character. Regardless of gender, it was the character that drew me. He wasn’t afraid to go there and we went even further. We’ve gone further in all of our storytelling.”

Jessica Jones will hit Netflix with thirteen episodes in December.




Alley Ulrich

Alley Ulrich is a student at the University of Kansas majoring in Film and Media Studies and History. She likes reading, looking at pictures of rabbits, and the color blue. Fell in love with science fiction after watching PACIFIC RIM.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
14 − 5 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.