2020 Neffy Award Winners Announced

The National Fantasy Fan Federation has announced the winners of the 2020 Speculative Fiction Awards known as the Neffys.

Founded in 1941, the N3F is one of the oldest science fiction and fantasy fan clubs still in operation. The group has a number of publications, both in digital and print, and administers the Neffys as well as the Franson Award and the Kaymar Award. The Neffys have been awarded annually since 2005.

Winners are marked in red.

Best Novel (over 100,000 words)

  • Endgames, L.E. Modesitt, Jr. (Tor)
  • Monster Hunter Guardian, Larry Correia & Sarah A. Hoyt (Baen)
  • What the Wind Brings, Matthew Hughes (Pulp Literature)
  • The Family Pride, Chris Nuttall (self-published)

Best Shorter Work (under 100,000 words)

  • “By the Warmth of Their Calculus”, Tobias S. Buckell (Mission Critical)
  • The Menace from Farside, Ian McDonald (Tor.com Publishing)
  • “Waterlines”, Suzanne Palmer (Asimov’s SF 7-8/19)
  • “A Place to Stand On”, Marie Vibbert (Analog 1-2/19)

Best Book Editor

  • Toni Weisskopf

Best Non-N3F Fanzine

  • Opuntia
  • Chunga
  • Event Horizon
  • Fadeaway
  • My Back Pages

Best N3F Fanzine

  • Tightbeam
  • Ionisphere
  • The N3F Review of Books

Best Anime

  • Astra: Lost in Space
  • The Promised Neverland
  • Sarazanmai

Best Fan Writer

  • Lloyd Penney
  • Will Mayo

Best Fan Artist

  • Jose Sanchez
  • Angela K. Walker

There were no winners in the categories of Best TV Show, Best Cover Artist, or Best Manga/Comic/Graphic Novel, as the majority of votes went for “No Award”.

Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Hailing Frequencies Open...

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
%d bloggers like this: