SFWA 2020 Nebula Award Finalists Announced

The Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) have announced the finalists for the 2020 Nebula Awards. The writers organization is moving forward with the awards with adjustments due to the COVID-19 situation.

Founded in 1966, the Nebula Awards were created by the SFWA to recognize and spread awareness of exemplary works and authors in the genre.

2020 Nebula Awards Categories and Finalists:

Best Novel

  • A Song for a New Day by Sarah Pinsker
  • Marque of Caine by Charles E. Gannon,
  • The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow
  • A Memory Called Empire  by Arkady Martine
  • Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
  • Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir

Best Novella

  • Anxiety Is the Dizziness of Freedom by Ted Chiang
  • The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by P. Djèlí Clark
  • This Is How You Lose the Time War by Amal El-Mohtar and Max Gladstone
  • Her Silhouette, Drawn in Water by Vylar Kaftan
  • The Deep by Rivers Solomon, Daveed Diggs, William Hutson, and Jonathan Snipes
  • Catfish Lullaby by A C Wise

Best Novelette

  • The Blur in the Corner of Your Eye by Sarah Pinsker
  • A Strange Uncertain Light by G. V. Anderson
  • For He Can Creep by Siobhan Carroll
  • His Footsteps, Through Darkness and Light by Mimi Mondal
  • Carpe Glitter by Cat Rambo
  • The Archronology of Love by Caroline M. Yoachim

Best Short Story

  • “And Now His Lordship Is Laughing” by Shiv Ramdas
  • “Give the Family My Love” by A. T. Greenblatt
  • “The Dead, In Their Uncontrollable Power” by Karen Osborne
  • “Ten Excerpts from an Annotated Bibliography on the Cannibal Women of Ratnabar Island” by Nibedita Sen
  • “How the Trick Is Done” by A C Wise
  • “A Catalog of Storms” by Fran Wilde

Ray Bradbury Nebula Award for Outstanding Dramatic Presentation

  • Captain Marvel written by Anna Boden, Ryan Fleck, and Geneva Robertson-Dworet (Marvel Studios)
  • The Mandalorian: “The Child”, Jon Favreau (Disney+) written by Jon Favreau (Disney+)
  • Good Omens: “Hard Times” written by Neil Gaiman (Amazon Studios and BBC Studios)
  • Watchmen: “A God Walks into Abar” written by Jeff Jensen and Damon Lindelof (HBO)
  • Avengers: Endgame written by Christopher Markus and Stephen McFeely (Marvel Studios)
  • Russian Doll: “The Way Out” written by Allison Silverman and Leslye Headland (Netflix)

Andre Norton Nebula Award for Middle Grade and Young Adult Fiction

  • Cog by Greg van Eekhout, published by HarperCollins
  • Sal and Gabi Break the Universe by Carlos Hernandez
  • Catfishing on CatNet by Naomi Kritzer
  • Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee
  • Peasprout Chen: Battle of Champions by Henry Lien
  • Riverland  by Fran Wilde

Best Game Writing

  • Outer Wilds by Kelsey Beachum, published by Mobius Digital
  • The Outer Worlds by Leonard Boyarsky, Kate Dollarhyde, Paul Kirsch, Chris L’Etoile, Daniel McPhee, Carrie Patel, Nitai Poddar, Marc Soskin, and Megan Starks
  • The Magician’s Workshop by Kate Heartfield
  • Disco Elysium by Robert Kurvitz
  • Fate Accessibility Toolkit by Elsa Sjunneson-Henry, Jess Banks, Laurel Bell, C.D. “Casey” Casas, Lillian Cohen-Moore, Brian Engard, Philippe-Antoine Ménard, Clark Valentine, Mysty Vander, and Zeph Wibby

You can watch the awards livestream on Saturday, May 30th, at 5 PM PDT. The stream will be free.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
2 × 11 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.