ROGUES GALLERY #49: Supergirl’s Boyfriend, Emily’s Boyfriend, and a Big Gorilla


[recaps by Jason P Hunt]

The Rogues are back with another episode discussing the latest episodes of the DC Comics television outings. This week: SupergirlThe FlashLegends of TomorrowArrow, and Powerless. Plus: Black Lightning has a star, The Batman has a new director, and his sidekick is getting a surprise movie of his own?…

The panel: Ann Laabs, Dustin Adair, Dave Margosian, Jeff Hackworth, Jason Hunt


Returns April 24


Episode 213 “Mr. & Mrs. Mxyzptlk”
Written by Jessica Queller & Sterling Gates
Directed by Stefan Pleszczynski

It’s the Valentine’s Day episode. Yuck.

And with Winn (Jeremy Jordan), we get yet another “forbidden” match. Lesbians with Alex (Chyler Leigh) and Maggie (Floriana Luna). Mortal enemies, first with J’onn (David Harewood) and M’gann, then with Kara (Melissa Benoist) and Mon-El (Chris Wood). And now the human-alien match with Winn and Lyra. And a poor cover of The Police…

The main thrust of the story has the doesn’t-look-like-him-at-all Mxyzptlk (Peter Gadiot) wooing Kara, seeking her hand in marriage because out of all the creatures in the universe, she’s The One. Or something. This has the effect of making Mon-El extremely jealous, and the whole episode turns into something from Dawson’s Creek or something…

And nobody pronounced it right.

Easter Eggs:

  • Kara was called brave and bold
  • McGurk was mentioned
  • “Look, up in the sky. It’s a bird. It’s a plane.”
  • Kara quotes Batman: “You want to get nuts? Let’s get nuts.”

This slideshow requires JavaScript.



Episode 313 “Attack on Gorilla City”
Teleplay by Aaron Helbing & David Kob
Story by Andrew Kreisberg
Directed by Dermott Daniel Downs

It’s the episode fans have been eagerly anticipating since the very first episode of the very first season, when Grodd was first mentioned: Team Flash goes to Gorilla City!

Grodd has captured Wells (Tom Cavanagh), and Jessie (Violett Beane) has jumped to Earth-1 (how?) to enlist the help of Barry (Grant Gustin) and the rest of the team. And oh, by the way, Wally (Keiynan Lonsdale) now has powers, and that’s cool, right? Except it’s not. Jessie is cool to the hip junior speedster. So while she and Wally mind the store with H.R. (also Tom Cavanagh), Barry takes everyone else to Earth-2.

“Welcome to the jungle.” Where they’re promptly captured. Because…

They wake up in cages. Grodd pontificates and monologues about Solovar’s plan to lead a gorilla army to Earth-1 to attack Central City (just Central City, mind you… I guess the rest of Earth is good, bro?) because humans are terrible, awful, and no good. This is only partially the case, as Grodd manipulates Barry into a very-CGI battle with Solovar in the arena. And with Solovar’s defeat, now Grodd can reveal his true plan — his plan to attack Earth-1, which up to now had been stymied by Solovar…

You wicked, wicked monkey…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Episode 212 “Camelot/3000”
Written by Anderson Mackenzie
Directed by Antonio Negret

Rip goes to Detroit in the year 3000, where Dr. Mid-Nite of the Justie Society has a piece of the Spear of Destiny. And they figure out the other piece of the spear is in Britannia. King Arthur’s neighborhood.

Turns out King Arthur’s knights are being captured, and Ray (Brandon Routh) tries to sell the idea that the Time Team is a group of warriors on a quest against evil. So Arthur wants them to pass a test given by Merlin … oh, wait… not Merlin. It’s Star Girl! She says the final mission of the JSA (along with a Time Master named Rip Hunter) was an operation to retrieve the spear, which was then broken into four pieces and scattered throughout time. Star Girl took on the persona of Merlin and formed the Knights of the Round Table.

And then Rip shows up with Damien Dhark (Neal McDonough). With a device that lets him control King Arthur.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.


Episode 514 “The Sin-Eater”
Written by Barbara Bloom & Jenny Lynn
Directed by Mary Lambert


China White (Kelly Hu), Cupid (Amy Gumenick), and former bad cop Liza Warner (Rutina Wesley) escape during a bus ride, stealing the bus and heading for Star City. The gal pals are after the money Tobias Church left behind from the crooked Amertek deal, money he never got to use because he got killed by Prometheus.

In the meantime, Dinah (Juliana Harkavy) gets officially sworn in as an SCPD officer, and Oliver (Stephen Amell) visits Prometheus’ mother to get her help locating the villain, and Prometheus doesn’t care for that too much, so he sends a letter to the Anti-Crime Unit with information that Green Arrow killed Detective Billy Malone.

And Thea (Willa Holland) is a little manipulative minx…


This slideshow requires JavaScript.






ARRIVAL Takes Home Award of Its Life With Oscar Precursor

[Featured image courtesy Arrival Official Facebook page]

LaLa Land may be the heavy favorite to sweep the Oscars this year, but on February 19 the Writers Guild of America (WGA) awarded Best Adapted Screenplay to the underdog science fiction film Arrival.

Based on Ted Chiang’s short story “Story of Your Life,” Arrival has a total of eight Academy Award Nominations, including the Oscar for Best Adapted Screenplay. As noted on Deadline, getting the WGA nod for either Original or Adapted Screenplay is usually a good omen for capturing the Little Golden Man, since “nine of the past 10 WGA winners also scooped the Academy Award, including The Big Short in 2016.”

A prestigious accolade like the WGA award is a welcome sign for films like Arrival – smart science fiction movies popular with critics and moviegoers alike. Hopefully Hollywood will realize that intelligent SF movies are worth the investment after all.

You can see the full list of WGA nominees and winners here.


ALL THE BIRDS IN THE SKY Wins Crawford Prize

[Featured image courtesy Charlie Jane Anders Official Facebook page]

In the year since its publication, Charlie Jane Anders’ All The Birds In The Sky  has garnered much recognition and praise. Yet while it appears on nomination lists and Top Ten Book sites across the spectrum, the book has not taken home a hefty industry trophy.

Until now.

The International Association for the Fantastic in the Arts (IAFA) awards the William L. Crawford Award to exemplary authors whose first fantasy novel has appeared during the previous calendar year. For 2017, the IAFA has awarded the Crawford prize to Anders and All The Birds In The Sky.

The 38th annual awards ceremony will be held March 22nd – 26th, 2017 at the Orlando Airport Marriott Lakeside in Orlando Florida.

All the details, including the shortlist for this year’s nominees, can be found at the IAFA site.


2017 Philip K. Dick Award Nominees Announced

On January 20th, the Philadelphia Science Fiction Society and the Philip K. Dick Trust announced the 2017 nominees for the Philip K. Dick Award. The PKD Award recognizes the best original paperback science fiction published in the United States the previous year.

The 2017 nominees are:

A distinguishing feature of this year’s titles? With the exception of Graft from “mid-major” publisher Angry Robot, the other titles are all from small independent presses.

Barnes & Noble selected Super Extra Grande as one of their “Best Science Fiction” picks for 2016 and Consider was a “Top YA Science Fiction” title for 2016.

The winner will be announced on Friday, April 14, 2017 at Norwescon 40 (see our conventions calendar for details).