The first annual Dragon Awards, each a unique handblown glass sculpture. (photo by Matthew Bowman, used by permission)

2020 Dragon Award Nominees Announced

The nominees for the 2020 Dragon Award have been announced. Normally presented at DragonCon in Atlanta, this year the awards will be presented online during the virtual DragonCon September 3 – 7.

The Dragon Awards were created as a way to recognize excellence in science fiction and fantasy across several categories. They are fan-driven, with no fees for nominating or voting. Voting is open to anyone who registers by Friday, September 4th.

The Testaments by Margaret Atwood
The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow
Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir
The Future of Another Timeline by Annalee Newitz
The Last Emperox by John Scalzi
The Rosewater Redemption by Tade Thompson
Network Effect by Martha Wells
Wanderers by Chuck Wendig

Best Fantasy Novel (Including Paranormal)

Ninth House by Leigh Bardugo
Jade War by Fonda Lee
Gods of Jade and Shadow by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
The Starless Sea by Erin Morgenstern
Dead Astronauts by Jeff VanderMeer
The Burning White by Brent Weeks

Best Young Adult / Middle Grade Novel

Finch Merlin and the Fount of Youth by Bella Forrest
Catfishing on CatNet by Naomi Kritzer
The Grace Year by Kim Liggett
Force Collector by Kevin Shinick
The Poison Jungle by Tui T. Sutherland
Cog by Greg van Eekhout

Best Military Science Fiction or Fantasy Novel

Savage Wars by Jason Anspach & Nick Cole
Edge of Valor by Josh Hayes
Aftershocks by Marko Kloos
Defiance by Bear Ross
Howling Dark by Christopher Ruocchio
System Failure by Joe Zieja

Best Alternate History Novel

The Girl with No Face by M. H. Boroson
Witchy Kingdom by D. J. Butler
Revolution by W. L. Goodwater
As Our World Ends by Jack Hunt
Up-time Pride and Down-time Prejudice by Mark H. Huston
A Nation Interrupted by Kevin McDonald

Best Media Tie-In Novel

Firefly – The Ghost Machine by James Lovegrove
Star Trek: Picard: The Last Best Hope by Una McCormack
Star Trek: Discovery: The Enterprise War by John Jackson Miller
Resistance Reborn by Rebecca Roanhorse
Aliens: Phalanx by Scott Sigler

Best Horror Novel

Imaginary Friend by Stephen Chbosky
Scavenger Hunt by Michaelbrent Collings
The Twisted Ones by T. Kingfisher
The Pursuit of William Abbey by Claire North
The Toll by Cherie Priest

Best Comic Book

Avengers by Jason Aaron, Ed McGuinness
Bitter Root by David F. Walker, Chuck Brown, Sanford Greene
Immortal Hulk by Al Ewing, Joe Bennett
Monstress by Marjorie Liu, Sana Takeda
Spider-Woman by Karla Pacheco, Pere Perez, Paulo Siqueira
Undiscovered Country by Charles Soule, Scott Snyder, Daniele Orlandini, Giuseppe Camuncoli, Matt D. Wilson

Best Graphic Novel

Batman Universe by Brian Michael Bendis, Nick Derington
Battlestar Galactica Counterstrike by John Jackson Miller, Daniel HDR
Black Bolt by Christian Ward, Frazier Irving, Stephanie Hans
Dragon Hoops by Gene Luen Yang
Mister Miracle by Tom King, Mitch Gerads
Something is Killing the Children Vol. 1 by James Tynion IV, Werther Dell’Edera

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy TV Series

Altered Carbon – Netflix
Lost In Space – Netflix Originals
Star Trek: Picard – CBS All Access
The Expanse – Amazon Prime
The Mandalorian – Disney+
The Witcher – Netflix
Watchmen – HBO

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Movie

Ad Astra by James Gray
Fast Color by Julia Hart
Joker by Todd Phillips
Star Wars: The Rise of Skywalker by J. J. Abrams
Terminator: Dark Fate by Tim Miller
The Lion King by Jon Favreau

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy PC / Console Game

Borderlands 3 – Gearbox Software & 2k Games
Control – Remedy Entertainment & 505 Games
Death Stranding – Kojima Productions & Sony Interactive
Gears 5 – The Coalition & Xbox Game Studios
Half-Life: Alyx – Valve
Star Wars Jedi: Fallen Order – Respawn Entertainment & Electronic Arts
The Outer Worlds – Obsidian Entertainment & Private Division

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Mobile Game

Arknights – Hypergryph, Yostar
Call of Duty: Mobile – TiMi Studios & Activision Games
Grindstone – Capybara Games Inc.
Manifold Garden – William Chyr Studio
Minecraft Earth – Mojang Studios & Xbox Game Studios
Mutazione – Die Gute Fabrik & Akupara Games

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Board Game

Forgotten Waters – Plaid Hat Games
Jaws of the Lion – Cephalofair Games
Power Rangers: Heroes of the Grid – Renegade Game Studios
Tapestry – Stonemaier Games
The Crew: The Quest for Planet Nine – Kosmos
The King’s Dilemma – Horrible Guild Game Studio

Best Science Fiction or Fantasy Miniatures / Collectible Card / Role-Playing Game

Alien RPG – Free League Publishing
Battlestar Galactica – Starship Battles: Viper Mk. VII – Ares Games
Magic: The Gathering: Throne of Eldraine – Wizards of the Coast
Pathfinder Second Edition – Paizo Publishing
Spectaculars Core Game – Scratchpad Publishing
Warhammer Age of Sigmar: Warcry – Games Workshop


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
17 + 15 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.