BooksConventions & EventsTelevision & Film




Pocket Books has made it official: the Strange New Worlds contest is back.

The original anthology ran from 1998 to 2007, with ten volumes collecting fan fiction published by Pocket through an open submission process. Amateur writers were chosen for publication, and some (like our pal Dayton Ward) went on to officially write Star Trek novels. Louise Burke, President of the Gallery Books Group and Publisher of Pocket Books, announced the news today ahead of Star Trek‘s 50th anniversary in 2016.

The new anthology will publish stories by ten grand prize winners. Two first prize winners will receive a free self-publishing package from Archway Publishing.

Star Trek fans were some of the original pioneers of fan fiction, and Strange New Worlds introduced powerful voices to the community—several of whom went on to become bestselling authors,” said Burke. “We are excited to be able to give fans a fresh platform on which to express themselves.”

The anthology contest follows in the footsteps of the original two-volume collection Star Trek: The New Voyages (Bantam, 1979) edited by Sondra Marshak and Myrna Culbreath. The books collected early fan-written Trek fiction, some of which you’d find in fanzines of the time.

The deadline for submissions will be January 15, 2016, and winners will be announced on March 31, 2016.  Stories will be selected by a panel to be named shortly.  The 2016 Star Trek: Strange New Worlds will be a fully fan-created package, and soon fans will be asked to submit their artwork for cover consideration.  For further details, please visit:


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
28 ⁄ 14 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.