2020 Splatterpunk Award Winners Announced

During Killercon’s online event over the August 7th – 9th weekend, the winners were announced for the 2020 Splatterpunk Awards.

Founded by Wrath James White and Brian Keene, the awards honor superior achievement for works published in 2019 in the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror. Readers, fans, and peers are all able to submit recommendations for nominees.

Winners are marked in red.



Carnivorous Lunar Activities by Max Booth III (Cinestate/Fangoria)
Killer Lake by W.D. Gagliani and David Benton (Deadite Press)
Reception by Kenzie Jennings (Death’s Head Press)
Lakehouse Infernal by Christine Morgan (Deadite Press)
Merciless by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
Toxic Love by Kristopher Triana (Blood Bound Books)
They Kill by Tim Waggoner (Flame Tree Press)


White Trash Gothic Part 2 by Edward Lee (Section 31 Productions)
Saint Sadist by Lucas Mangum (Grindhouse Press)
Weeping Season by Sean O’Connor (Uafas Press)
How Much To..? by Matt Shaw (Self-Published)
One For the Road by Wesley Southard (Deadite Press)
Paradise, Maine by Jackson R. Thomas (Alien Agenda Publishing)


“Breaking the Waters” by Donyae Coles (from Pseudopod)
“Angelbait” by Ryan Harding (from The Big Book of Blasphemy, Necro Publications)
“Censered” by Christine Morgan (from And Hell Followed, Death’s Head Press)
“Shoulder Pain” by Chandler Morrison (from Macabre Museum Magazine)
“Param” by Susan Snyder (from Trigger Warning: Body Horror, Madness Heart Press)
“Norwegian Woods” by Jeremy Wagner (from The Big Book of Blasphemy, Necro Publications)


Dead Sea Chronicles by Tim Curran (Bloodshot Books)
Various States of Decay by Matt Hayward (Poltergeist Press)
Dawn of the Living Impaired, and Other Messed-Up Zombie Stories by Christine Morgan (Death’s Head Press)
This Is A Horror Book by Charles Austin Muir (Clash Books)
Dirty Rotten Hippies and Other Stories by Bryan Smith (Grindhouse Press)
Resisting Madness by Wesley Southard (Death’s Head Press)


And Hell Followed, edited by Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III (Death’s Head Press)
The Big Book of Blasphemy, edited by Regina Mitchell and David G. Barnett (Necro Publications)
Dig Two Graves, edited by Jarod Barbee and Patrick C. Harrison III (Death’s Head Press)
Midnight In The Graveyard, edited by Kenneth W. Cain (Silver Shamrock Publishing)
The New Flesh: A Literary Tribute to David Cronenberg, edited by Sam Richard and Brendan Vidito (Weirdpunk Books)
Polish Extreme, edited by Edward Lee & Karolina Kaczkowska (Necro Publications)

Additionally, author and editor Edward Lee was given the annual J.F. Gonzalez Lifetime Achievement Award for his “significant contributions to the sub-genres of Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror.”

Brian Keene notes on his web site, that participation in the nomination process was higher, indicating a “significant increase in the number of consumers reading Splatterpunk and Extreme Horror.”


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
26 − 9 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.