AwardsConventions & Events

New Zealand’s Sir Julius Vogel Awards Announced at Worldcon

During the 78th World Science Fiction Convention held in Wellington, New Zealand, the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) announced the winners of the 2020 Sir Julius Vogel Awards. The Awards recognise excellence and achievement by New Zealanders, both amateur and professional, in the science fiction, fantasy and horror genres.

The awards ceremony took place as part of CoNZealand and was broadcast via livestream as part of the convention program. SFFANZ president John Toon said “It’s always a pleasure and an honour to showcase some of the best contemporary New Zealand science fiction and fantasy, and especially so this year, with the eyes of international fandom on us. On behalf of SFFANZ, hearty congratulations to all this year’s Sir Julius Vogel Award winners and nominees.”

Sir Julius Vogel was the eighth Premier of New Zealand, serving from 1873 to 1875 and again in 1876. He also wrote Anno Domini 2020, or, Woman’s Destiny in 1889. It’s considered New Zealand’s first science fiction novel, telling the story of a utopian world with women in positions of authority.

Voting was open to members of the Science Fiction and Fantasy Association of New Zealand (SFFANZ) and members of CoNZealand. Winners are marked in red.

Professional Awards Section

Best Novel – Adult

  • The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach (Little Hook Press)
  • The Blacksmith by Barbara Howe (IFWG Australia)
  • Into the Ashes by Lee Murray (Severed Press)
  • The Prince of Secrets by A.J. Lancaster (Camberion Press)

Best Novel – Young Adult

  • The Clockill and the Thief by Gareth Ward (Walker Books Australia)
  • Tyrelia by S.R. Manssen (Manssen Publishing)
  • Ringlet and the Day the Oceans Stopped by Felicity Williams (The Cuba Press)
  • Dragon Rift: Riders of Fire Book 3 by Eileen Mueller (Phantom Feather Press)
  • Light in My Blood by Jean Gilbert and William Dresden (Rogue House Publishing)

Best Novella/Novelette

  • From A Shadow Grave by Andi C Buchanan (Paper Road Press)
  • We All Fall by Helen Vivinne Fletcher (HVF Publishing)
  • Ventiforms by Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s Science Fiction, Jan/Feb 2019)
  • Would She Be Gone by Melanie Harding-Shaw (self-published)
  • Hunger’s Truth by A.J. Fitzwater (Gigantosaurus)

Best Short Story

  • “A Shriek Across The Sky” by Casey Lucas (Sponge Magazine)
  • “Losing Face” by Lee Murray (Things in the Well Publications)
  • “Work and Income Gothic” by Jack Remiel Cottrell (Flash Frontier)
  • “The Fisher” by Melanie Harding-Shaw (Newsroom)
  • “Chasing Oumuamua” by Sean Monaghan (Asimov’s Science Fiction, issue 5, 2019)
  • “Proof of Concept” by James Rowland (

Best Collected Work

  • Into the Mire by Casey Lucas (self-published)
  • Dark Winds Over Wellington – Chilling Tales of the Weird & the Strange by Tabatha Wood (Wild Woods Books)
  • Year’s Best Aotearoa New Zealand Science Fiction and Fantasy, Vol 1 edited by Marie Hodgkinson (Paper Road Press)
  • Beyond the City Limits: Fantasy and Science Fiction Anthology edited by Kura Carpenter (Wicked Unicorn Press)
  • Flash Frontier: Speculative Fiction Issue edited by A.J. Fitzwater and Tim Jones (Flash Frontier)

Best Professional Artwork

  • Pepper Curry – Cover of The Dawnhounds by Sascha Stronach (Little Hook Press)
  • Vivienne To – Cover of Dragon Pearl by Yoon Ha Lee (Rick Riordan Presents)
  • Emma Weakley – Cover of From a Shadow Grave by Andi C. Buchanan (Paper Road Press)
  • Laya Rose – Illustrations for Tio Tiamu / The Smelly Giant by Kurahau (Huia Publishers)

Best Dramatic Presentation – Long Form

  • Dr Who: The Elysian Blade by David Bishop

Best Professional Publication

  • Swords: The Webcomic by Matthew Wills
  • Haunt.d by Kezia Tubbs
Fan Awards Section

Best Fan Production /Publication

  • Geysercon Con Book produced by Grace Bridges
  • Plant Life by Laya Rose
  • Phoenixine produced by Lynelle and John Howell
  • Consequence LARP by Callum Upton, Toby Stewart, and Sarah Draymond

Best Fan Writing

  • “Sitrep” by Alex Lindsay (Phoenixine)
  • “Welcome to the Con” by Grace Bridges (Geysercon Con Book)

Best Fan Artwork

  • Wandering Wild by Michelle Kan
  • Aliens vs Geysers by Kat Oliver
  • Deet by Laya Rose
  • Wilder Girls by Laya Rose
Special Awards

Best New Talent

  • Denika Mead
  • Stephen Mullholland
  • A.J. Lancaster
  • Melanie Harding-Shaw
  • Sascha Stronach

Services to Fandom

Grace Bridges

Services to Science Fiction, Fantasy and Horror

Melanie Harding-Shaw


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
25 × 17 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.
%d bloggers like this: