2022 British Fantasy Awards Announced

The winners of the 2022 British Fantasy Awards were announced over the weekend at Fantasycon in Heathrow, UK. Established in 1976 as The August Derleth Fantasy Awards, the BFAs are a juried award with finalists submitted by members of the British Fantasy Society.

Winners are marked in red.


Best Newcomer (The Sydney J. Bounds Award)

  • J.T. Greathouse, for The Hand of the Sun King (Gollancz)
  • Ian Green, for The Gauntlet and the Fist Beneath (Head of Zeus)
  • Shelley Parker-Chan, for She Who Became the Sun (Tor)
  • Lorraine Wilson, for This is Our Undoing (Luna Press Publishing)
  • C.A. Yates, for We All Have Teeth (Fox Spirit)
  • Xiran Jay Zhao, for Iron Widow (Penguin Teen)

Best Film / Television Production

  • Candyman
  • Dune
  • The Green Knight
  • In the Earth
  • Last Night in Soho
  • Space Sweepers

Best Non-Fiction

  • After Human: A Critical History of the Human in Science Fiction from Shelley to Le Guin, Thomas Connolly (Liverpool University Press)
  • Dangerous Visions and New Worlds: Radical Science Fiction, 1950-1985, ed. Andrew Nette & Iain McIntyre (PM Press)
  • The Full Lid, Alasdair Stuart, ed. Marguerite Kenner
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror, Jim Mcleod
  • Worlds Apart: Worldbuilding in Fantasy and Science Fiction, ed. Francesca T. Barbini (Luna Press Publishing)
  • Writing the Uncanny, ed. Dan Coxon & Richard V. Hirst (Dead Ink)

Best Artist

  • Olga Beliaeva
  • Randy Broecker
  • Alison Buck
  • Jenni Coutts
  • Vincent Sammy
  • Daniele Serra

Best Comic / Graphic Novel

  • 2000AD (Rebellion)
  • DIE Vol. 4, Kieron Gillen & Stephanie Hans (Image)
  • Djeliya, Juni Ba (TKO Studios)
  • ExtraOrdinary, V.E. Schwab & Enid Balam (Titan Comics)
  • The Girl from the Sea, Molly Knox Ostertag (Graphix)
  • Usagi Yojimbo: Homecoming, Stan Sakai (IDW Publishing)

Best Magazine / Periodical

  • Anathema Magazine
  • Apex Magazine
  • Black Static
  • Ginger Nuts of Horror
  • Interzone
  • Shoreline of Infinity

Best Independent Press

  • Black Shuck Books
  • Luna Press Publishing
  • Unsung Stories
  • Wizard’s Tower Press

Best Audio

  • Breaking the Glass Slipper, Megan Leigh, Lucy Hounsom & Charlotte Bond
  • Daughter of Fire and Water, Lyndsey Croal
  • Monstrous Agonies, H.R. Owen
  • PodCastle, Escape Artists
  • PseudoPod, Escape Artists

Best Anthology

  • Dreamland: Other Stories, ed. Sophie Essex (Black Shuck Books)
  • Out of the Darkness, ed. Dan Coxon (Unsung Stories)
  • Sinopticon: A Celebration of Chinese Science Fiction, ed. Xueting C. Ni (Solaris)
  • There Is No Death, There Are No Dead, ed. Aaron J. French & Jess Landry (Crystal Lake)
  • When Things Get Dark, ed. Ellen Datlow (Titan)
  • The Year’s Best African Speculative Fiction, ed. Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (Jembefola Press)

Best Short Fiction

  • “Bathymetry”, Lorraine Wilson (in Strange Horizons)
  • “Fill the Thickened Lung with Breath”, C.A. Yates (in Dreamland: Other Stories, Black Shuck Books)
  • “A Flight of Birds”, E.M. Faulds (in Shoreline of Infinity #25)
  • “Henrietta”, T.H. Dray (in BFS Horizons #13)
  • “O2 Arena”, Oghenechovwe Donald Ekpeki (in Galaxy’s Edge)
  • “Sky Eyes”, Julie Travis (in Dreamland: Other Stories, Black Shuck Books)

Best Collection

  • The Ghost Sequences, A.C. Wise (Undertow Publications)
  • I Spit Myself Out, Tracy Fahey (Sinister Horror Company)
  • The Museum for Forgetting, Pete W. Sutton (Grimbold Books)
  • Never Have I Ever, Isabel Yap (Small Beer Press)
  • We All Have Teeth, C.A. Yates (Fox Spirit)

Best Novella

  • & This is How to Stay Alive, Shingai Njeri Kagunda (Neon Hemlock)
  • Defekt, Nino Cipri (Tordotcom)
  • Matryoshka, Penny Jones (Hersham Horror)
  • A Spindle Splintered, Alix E. Harrow (Tordotcom)
  • These Lifeless Things, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • Treacle Walker, Alan Garner (4th Estate)

Best Horror Novel (The August Derleth Award)

  • The Book of Accidents, Chuck Wendig (Penguin)
  • A Broken Darkness, Premee Mohamed (Solaris)
  • A Dowry of Blood, S.T. Gibson (Nyx Publishing / Orbit)
  • The Last House on Needless Street, Catriona Ward (Viper Books)
  • My Heart is a Chainsaw, Stephen Graham Jones (Titan)
  • Nothing but Blackened Teeth, Cassandra Khaw (Titan)

Best Fantasy Novel (The Robert Holdstock Award)

  • The Black Coast, Mike Brooks (Orbit)
  • The Jasmine Throne, Tasha Suri (Orbit)
  • She Who Became the Sun, Shelley Parker-Chan (Tor)
  • Sistersong, Lucy Holland (Tor)
  • This is Our Undoing, Lorraine Wilson (Luna Press Publishing)
  • The Unbroken, C.L. Clark (Orbit)


Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
19 × 23 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.