2021 Concept Art Awards Winners Announced

Saturday September 11th, the Concept Art Association hosted their third annual Concept Art Awards Presented by Lightbox Expo. The awards are presented from Gnomon School of VFX and Animation to recognize concept artists in a variety of categories in the professional entertainment industry and several student categories.

The awards were hosted by Aldis Hodge and Krystina Arielle on Twitch, YouTube, and the Concept Art Association website. Winners are recognized with a trophy from Legacy Effects and a One-Year subscription to Adobe Creative Cloud, and featured in an article for the ImagineFX Magazine.

Two Lifetime Achievement Awards were recognized this year: pioneer of digital painting, Craig Mullins and international award winning artist, Iain McCaig.

Winners are marked in red.

Animated Films – Character

  • Passing Souls — Celine You, Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • Katie Mitchell — Lindsey Olivares, The Mitchells vs. The Machines (Sony Pictures Animation/Netflix)
  • Luca Character Design — Daniel Lopez Munoz, Luca (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • Sisu Human — Shiyoon Kim, Raya and The Last Dragon (Walt Disney Animation Studios)

Animated Film – Environment

  • The Great Before — Steve Pilcher, Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • Sea Monster World — Daniel Lopez Munoz, Luca (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • Jazz Club Street — Bryn Imagire, Soul (Pixar Animation Studios)
  • Fang — Mingjue Helen Chen, Raya and The Last Dragon (Walt Disney Animation Studios)

Animates Series – Character

  • Santi and Tomás — Jocelyn Sepulveda, Santiago of the Seas (Nickelodeon)
  • Birdteam Concepts — Carly Monardo, Birdgirl (Adult Swim)
  • Morgana and Jim Troll Beast — Alfonso Blaas, Wizards: Tales of Arcadia (DreamWorks Animation/Netflix)
  • Master and Apprentice — Alfonso Blaas, Wizards: Tales of Arcadia (DreamWorks Animation/Netflix)

Animated Series – Environment

  • Headquarters — Przemek Kotynski, The Liberator (Netflix)
  • Tree House — Romain Jouandeau, Mush Mush & the Mushables (La Cabane Productions/HBOMax)
  • The Burning Polis — Ryan Brothers, Blood of Zeus (Netflix)
  • The Abandoned Temple — Ryan Brothers, Blood of Zeus (Netflix)

Live Action – Film – Character

  • Black Widow White Costume Design — Andy Park, Black Widow (Marvel Studios)
  • Batman Tactical Suit — Jerad Marantz, Zack Snyder’s Justice League (Warner Brothers)
  • Early Witch Design — Andrew Leung, Mulan (Walt Disney Studios)
  • Alien Pilot Pods — Eshan Bigloo, The Tomorrow War (Amazon Prime)*****

Live Action – Film – Environment

  • Deepswell-9 Whitespike Attack — Victor Martinez, The Tomorrow War (Amazon Prime)
  • Battle Scene — Andrew Leung, Mulan (Walt Disney Studios)
  • Volcanic Valley Battle Scene — Alistair Gillies, Mulan (Walt Disney Studios)
  • Santa’s workshop — Fernando Acosta, Christmas Chronicles 2 (Netflix)

Live Action – Series – Character

  • Scarlet Witch — Andy Park, WandaVision (Marvel/Disney+)
  • Amalia — Karla Ortiz, The Nevers (HBOMax)
  • Bobby — Luca Nemolato, Jupiter’s Legacy (Netflix)
  • Ectoplex — Phillip Boutté Jr., Jupiter’s Legacy (Netflix)

Live Action – Series – Environment

  • Brave New World Environment — Ulrich Zeidler, Brave New World (Netflix)
  • HEX Transition — Jackson Sze, WandaVision (Marvel/Disney+)
  • Lovecraft Country Environment — Vicki Pui, Lovecraft Country (HBOMax)
  • Escape Lamentis — Shane Baxley, Loki (Marvel/Disney+)

Video Game – Character

  • Maman Brigitte — Marek Madej, Cyberpunk 2077 (CD Projekt RED)
  • Quantum Masks — Nicholas Kole, Crash Bandicoot 4 (Toys for Bob/Activision)
  • Thorstein — Quentin Gillet, Assassin’s Creed Valhalla:Wrath of the Druids (Ubisoft)
  • Ryuzo — Naomi Baker, Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment)

Video Game – Environment

  • Mind of the Master — Karine Villette, Solasta: Crown of the Magister (Tactical Adventures)
  • Hephaistos AquaDock — Fernanders Sam, Immortals Fenyx Rising (Ubisoft)
  • Altan Warcamp — Romain Jouandeau, Ghost of Tsushima (Sucker Punch Productions/Sony Interactive Entertainment)
  • Shadowlands Zone Art — Cole Eastburn, World of Warcraft Shadowlands (Blizzard Entertainment)

VR Keyframe

  • Magic Flower — Anais Marmonier, Baba Yaga (Baobab Studios)
  • Annibale, a Mediterranean Myth — Giovanni Maisto (Two Shoot Ad Agency)*****
  • Pop-Up Theater Storm — Glenn Hernandez, Baba Yaga (Baobab Studios)
  • Hut in the Garden — Cody Gramstad, Baba Yaga (Baobab Studios)

Independent Character

  • Azalea Agu — Kaining Wang
  • Carnevale-Rogue — Connor Sheehan
  • P4NG0L1 — Mickael Lelievre
  • Parade of 6 armed Mani-Padme — Te Hu

Independent Environment

  • Coral Canyon — Karine Villette
  • The Roost — Connor Sheehan
  • Toy Store — Ken Marceau Nakayama
  • PURPURA PETRIOSA-KAMBÆ — Romain Jouandeau

Student Character

  • Pigeons of NYC — Jennifer Wu, Sheridan College
  • Battle of The Bands — Melanie Tikhonova, Sheridan College
  • The Peacock Squire — Miriam Presas, ArtCenter College of Design
  • Under The Clouds — Samuel Amar, New3dge Concept Art School

Student Environment

  • Duat City View — Tom Sterckx, HKU, University of Arts Ultrecht*****
  • PHLEBAS — José Ramirez Casas, New3dge Concept Art School
  • Avalon — Valentin Perouelle, New3dge Concept Art School
  • Glacier Oil Drilling — Shaoting Jing, ArtCenter College of Design

Fan Art

  • Mononoke (San) — Jude Smith
  • Northern Water Tribe — Connor Sheehan
  • Blood and Fire — Almu Redondo
  • Wish — Daniel Oxford

For more information, visit the Concept Art Association’s website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Solve : *
20 × 17 =

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.