2016 World Fantasy Award Finalists Announced

The 2017 World Fantasy Award shortlist for works published in 2016 has been announced. The winners will be announced at the World Fantasy Convention, November 2-5, 2017 at the Wyndham Riverwalk in San Antonio, TX. This year’s Lifetime Achievement Awards will be given to Terry Brooks and Marina Warner.

The Finalists are:

Best Novel:

  • Borderline, Mishell Baker (Saga)
  • Roadsouls, Betsy James (Aqueduct)
  • The Obelisk Gate, N.K. Jemisin (Orbit US; Orbit UK)
  • The Sudden Appearance of Hope, Claire North (Redhook; Orbit UK)
  • Lovecraft Country, Matt Ruff (Harper)

Best Long Fiction:

  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe, Kij Johnson (Tor.com Publishing)
  • The Ballad of Black Tom, Victor LaValle (Tor.com Publishing)
  • Every Heart a Doorway, Seanan McGuire (Tor.com Publishing)
  • “Bloodybones”, Paul F. Olson (Whispered Echoes)
  • A Taste of Honey, Kai Ashante Wilson (Tor.com Publishing)

Best Short Fiction:

  • “Das Steingeschöpf”, G.V. Anderson (Strange Horizons 12/12/16)
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies”, Brooke Bolander (Uncanny 11-12/16)
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron”, Amal El-Mohtar (The Starlit Wood)
  • “Little Widow”, Maria Dahvana Headley (Nightmare 9/16)
  • “The Fall Shall Further the Flight in Me”, Rachael K. Jones (Clockwork Phoenix 5)

Best Anthology:

  • Clockwork Phoenix 5, Mike Allen, ed. (Mythic Delirium)
  • Dreaming in the Dark, Jack Dann, ed. (PS Australia)
  • Children of Lovecraft, Ellen Datlow, ed. (Dark Horse)
  • The Best American Science Fiction and Fantasy 2016, Karen Joy Fowler & John Joseph Adams, eds. (Mariner)
  • The Starlit Wood, Dominik Parisien & Navah Wolfe, eds. (Saga)

Best Collection:

  • Sharp Ends, Joe Abercrombie (Orbit US; Gollancz)
  • On the Eyeball Floor and Other Stories, Tina Connolly (Fairwood)
  • A Natural History of Hell, Jeffrey Ford (Small Beer)
  • Vacui Magia, L.S. Johnson (Traversing Z Press)
  • The Paper Menagerie and Other Stories, Ken Liu (Saga; Head of Zeus)

Best Artist:

  • Greg Bridges
  • Julie Dillon
  • Paul Lewin
  • Jeffrey Alan Love
  • Victo Ngai

Special Award, Professional:

  • L. Timmel Duchamp, for Aqueduct Press
  • C.C. Finlay, for editing F&SF
  • Michael Levy & Farah Mendlesohn, for Children’s Fantasy Literature: An Introduction (Cambridge University Press)
  • Kelly Link, for contributions to the genre
  • Joe Monti, for contributions to the genre

Special Award, Non-Professional:

  • Scott H. Andrews, for Beneath Ceaseless Skies
  • Neile Graham, for fostering excellence in the genre through her role as Workshop Director, Clarion West
  • Malcolm R. Phifer & Michael C. Phifer, for their publication The Fantasy Illustration Library, Volume Two: Gods and Goddesses (Michael Publishing)
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, for Uncanny
  • Brian White, for Fireside Fiction Company

This year’s event features the release of the new Awards statue sculpted by award-winning artist Vincent Villafranca. The previous statue, a bust of author H. P. Lovecraft, was discontinued after complaints of Lovecraft’s history of racism.

For more details about the Award, the Ceremony and the Statue itself visit the World Fantasy Award website.


Hailing Frequencies Open...

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
%d bloggers like this: