2017 Hugo Award Finalists Announced

The World Science Fiction Society has announced the nominees for the 2017 Hugo Awards to be presented in Helsinki, Finland during the 75th World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) to be held August 9-13, 2017.

Best Series

  • The Craft Sequence – Max Goldstone
  • The Expanse – James S. A. Corey
  • The October Daye Books – Seanan McGuire
  • Peter Grant/Rivers of London – Ben Aaronovitch
  • Temeraire – Naomi Novik
  • The Vorkosigan Saga – Lois McMaster Bujold

Note: The “Best Series” category is not a permanent category.

Best Fan Artist

  • Ninni Aalto
  • Alex Garner
  • Vesa Lehtimäki
  • Likhain (M. Sereno)
  • Spring Schoenhuth
  • Mansik Yang

Best Fan Writer

  • Mike Glyer
  • Jeffro Johnson
  • Natalie Luhrs
  • Foz Meadows
  • Abigail Nussbaum
  • Chuck Tingle

Best Fancast

  • The Coode Street Podcast – Gary K. Wolfe & Jonathan Strahan
  • Ditch Diggers – Mur Lafferty & Matt Wallace
  • Fangirl Happy Hour – Ana Grilo & Renay Williams
  • Galactic Suburbia – Alisa Krasnostein, Alexander Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, produced by Andrew Finch
  • The Rageaholic – Razörfist
  • Tea and Jeopardy – Emma Newman with Peter Newman

Best Fanzine

  • Castalia House Blog – Jeffro Johnson
  • Journey Planet – James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Esther MacCallum-Stewart, Helena Nash, Errick Nunnally, Pádraig Ó Méalóid, Chuck Serface, Erin Underwood
  • Lady Business – Clare, Ira, Jodie, K. J., Renay, Susan
  • Nerds of a Feather, Flock Together – The  G, Vance Kotrla & Joe Sherry
  • Rocket Stack Rank – Greg Hullender & Eric Wong
  • SF Bluestocking – Bridget McKinney

Best Semiprozine

  • Beneath Ceaseless Skies – Scott H. Andrews
  • Cirsova Heroic Fantasy and Science Fiction Magazine – P. Alexander
  • Gigantosaurus – Rashida J. Smith
  • Strange Horizons – Niall Harrison, Catherine Krahe, Vajra Chandrasekera, Vanessa Rose Phin, Li Chua, Aishwarya Subramanian, Tim Moore, Anaea Lay, Staff
  • Uncanny Magazine – Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas, Michi Trota, Julia Rios, Erika Ensign & Steven Schapansky
  • The Book Smugglers – Ana Grilo & Thea James

Best Professional Artist

  • Galen Dara
  • Julie Dillon
  • Chris McGrath
  • Victo Ngai
  • John Picacio
  • Sana Takeda

Best Editor – Long Form

  • Vox Day
  • Shiela E. Gilbert
  • Liz Gorinsky
  • Devi Pillai
  • Miriam Weinberg
  • Navah Wolfe

Best Editor – Short Form

  • John Joseph Adams
  • Neil Clarke
  • Ellen Datlow
  • Jonathan Strahan
  • Lynne M. Thomas & Michael Damian Thomas
  • Sheila Williams

Best Dramatic Presentation (Short Form)

  • Black Mirror, “San Junipero”
  • Doctor Who, “The Return of Doctor Mysterio”
  • The Expanse, “Leviathan Wakes”
  • Game of Thrones, “Battle of the Bastards”
  • Game of Thrones, “The Door”
  • Splendor & Misery

Best Dramatic Presentation (Long Form)

  • Arrival
  • Deadpool
  • Ghostbusters
  • Hidden Figures
  • Rogue One: A Star Wars Story
  • Stranger Things: Season One

Best Graphic Story

  • Black Panther Vol 1: A Nation Under Our Feet – Ta-Nehisi Coates & Brian Stelfreeze
  • Monstress Vol 1: Awakening – Marjorie Liu & Sana Takeda
  • Ms. Marvel Vol 5: Super Famous – G. Willow Wilson & Takeshi Miyazawa
  • Paper Girls Vol 1 – Brian K. Vaughn, Cliff Chiang, Matthew Wilson, Jared Fletcher
  • Saga Vol 6 – Fiona Staples, Brian K. Vaughn, Fonografiks
  • The Vision Vol 1: Little Worse Than a Man – Tom King & Gabriel Hernandez Walta

Best Related Work

  • The Geek Feminist Revolution – Kameron Hurley
  • The Princess Diarist – Carrie Fisher
  • Traveler of Worlds: Conversations with Robert Silverberg – Robert Silverberg & Alvaro Zinos-Amaro
  • The View From the Cheap Seats – Neil Gaiman
  • Women of Harry Potter – Sarah Gailey
  • Words Are My Matter: Writings About Life and Books – Ursula K. Le Guin

Best Short Story

  • “The City Born Great” – N. K. Jemisin
  • “A Fist of Permutations in Lightning and Wildflowers” – Alyssa Wong
  • “Our Talons Can Crush Galaxies” – Brooke Bolander
  • “Seasons of Glass and Iron” – Amal El-Mohtar
  • “That Game We Played During the War” – Carrie Vaughn
  • “An Unimaginable Light” – John C. Wright

Best Novelette

  • Alien Stripper Boned From Behind by the T-Rex – Stix Hiscock
  • The Art of Space Travel – Nina Allan
  • The Jewel and Her Lapidary – Fran Wilde
  • The Tomato Thief – Ursula Vernon
  • Touring With the Alien – Carolyn Ives Gilman
  • You’ll Surely Drown Here If You Stay – Alyssa Wong

Best Novella

  • The Ballad of Black Tom – Victor LaValle
  • The Dream-Quest of Vellitt Boe – Kij Johnson
  • Every Heart a Doorway – Seanan McGuire
  • Penric and the Shaman – Lois McMaster Bujold
  • A Taste of Honey – Kai Ashante Wilson
  • This Census-Taker – China Miéville

Best Novel

  • All the Birds in the Sky – Charlie Jane Anders
  • A Closed and Common Orbit – Becky Chambers
  • Death’s End – Cixin Liu
  • Ninefox Gambit – Yoon Ha Lee
  • The Obelisk Gate – N. K. Jemisin
  • Too Like the Lightning – Ada Palmer

The WSFS also presents the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, given to the best new professional science fiction or fantasy writer in the previous two years.

John W. Campbell Award

  • Sarah Gailey
  • J. Mulrooney
  • Malka Older
  • Ada Palmer
  • Laurie Penny
  • Kelly Robson

The finalists were announced via YouTube:

2,464 nominating ballots were cast this year, the second highest total in the history of the Hugos. Voting on the finalists will continue until July.

The Hugo Awards are presented every year by the World Science Fiction Society to honor the best of science fiction and fantasy from the prior calendar year. Only members of the WSFS may vote on the finalists to decide the winners. For more information on the Hugo Awards, see www.thehugoawards.org. For more information about the John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer, see www.writertopia.com/awards/campbell.



Jason P. Hunt

Jason P. Hunt (founder/EIC) is the author of the sci-fi novella "The Hero At the End Of His Rope". His short film "Species Felis Dominarus" was a finalist in the Sci Fi Channel's 2007 Exposure competition.

Hailing Frequencies Open...

Do NOT follow this link or you will be banned from the site!
%d bloggers like this: